Home > Programs > Intercultural Ministry Webinar

Recordings of previous webinars can be found below.
Or register for our upcoming webinar:

Strangers & Angels Unaware:
Demographic Change, Church Decline and Radical Hope

Rather than lamenting the declining attendance in our churches as a bad/sad thing, what if we see it as a Divine invitation to a radical new hope, a re-conceptualization of church in Canada. This webinar will present specific info on demographic changes and projections in the Canadian population, as well as patterns of church decline, and then explore strategies to lift churches out of shock and discouragement – helping them mobilize hope by opening their faith communities to more diverse populations!

Wednesday, February 12th, 4-5pm Central Standard Time (2pm PST, 3pm MST, 5pm EST, 6pm AST, 6:30pm NST)



Pre-registration required to receive webinar video-conference link.
(scroll down or click here)

Join the Forum for Intercultural Leadership and Learning of The Canadian Council of Churches as we look at current demographic studies, projections of our changing society, and data on church decline, and ask “What if we really have only two choices: to embrace this new reality – allowing, encouraging our churches to morph into new intercultural communities, or become a kind of anglo-hideout, hold on as long as we can, last refuge of the once-dominant colonialists? What do we do?”

Through this webinar discussion, we hope to create new neural pathways so we can begin to see these changes not as diminishment but as possibility, as hope, and as call. We will look at some strategies for opening our faith communities to folk who are ‘different’ than us, to the new and more diverse Canada. 

No Cost

Click here to download an event flyer: Webinar Flyer

Facilitator:

Bill Millar is an intercultural ministry researcher & trainer, completing a McGeachy Scholarship from the United Church of Canada on the the nitty gritty of intercultural living to be published as a podcast series beginning February 2020. Prior to this, he was pastor of Knox United in Winnipeg, a downtown church in Winnipeg that became, over his 14 years, the most culturally diverse United Church in the country. Prior experience includes 11 years working in congregational change and transformation and 12 years as pastor of a Deaf church. 

 

 

Questions?  
Contact pablo@councilofchurches.ca 416-972-9494 x23

To participate fill out and submit the form below.
Pre-registration is required
Immediately upon registering you will receive an email with instructions for participating (please check your junk mail or other folders if it does not appear in your inbox)

Webinar

Contact information:

Full name (first and last)
Address
City
State/Province
Zip/Postal
Country

Tell us more about yourself to help shape the workshop

Other Information

Notes on the registration

Previous Webinars:

November 2019

Building Welcoming Spaces with Universal Design

In this webinar recording, Miriam Spies (UCC Minister and PhD student) and Alice Schuda (Centennial College) explore how to talk about and create welcoming spaces for People With Disabilities (PWDs) from a theological perspective. We also focus on the practice of Universal Design for Learning (UDL).

Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is an educational approach that seeks to reduce barriers to learning and to address the different learning needs of students. In a diverse classroom, no single method can reach all learners. Multiple pathways to achieving learning goals are required!

This webinar took place on Wednesday, November 20th, 2019 and was hosted by the Forum for Intercultural Leadership and Learning (FILL) of The Canadian Council of Churches.

View the recording on Youtube

Downloadable Resources:

Power Point Slides of the Webinar
Reading Materials
Transcript of the Webinar

Register for an upcoming webinar

Subscribe to our newsletters

 

Forum for Intercultural Leadership and Learning logo

 


 

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.