Engage Difference March 2023

Five days focused on faith, heart, mind, and skills for the art of intercultural ministry Engage Difference! Deepening Understanding for Intercultural Ministry (DUIM) is a 5-day interactive and engaging program with practical ideas for implementation in your own context. DUIM is for ministry leaders and community members nurturing cultural relevance, understanding, and awareness in their […]

Alumni Retreat

All Things are Made New (Revelation 21:5)  Engage Difference! Deepening Understanding for Intercultural Ministry  Alumni Retreat Winter 2023  Three 1-hour moments of Retreat: Tuesday January 10/Wednesday January 11/Thursday January 12, 2023  Noon pacific/1pm Mountain/2pm Central/3pm Eastern/4pm Atlantic  On-line (With option for local in-person hybrid “pods”)  Please Register Below for Zoom Link Purpose of gathering:   As we […]

An Invitation to Conversation and Dialogue

InterculturalityAn Invitation to Conversation and Dialogue The Theology and Research Group ofThe Forum for Intercultural Leadership and Learning The Forum for Intercultural Leadership and Learning (FILL) is convening a national conversationtoward describing and articulating “interculturality” in Canadian contexts. You are invited you to a Canada-wide, open conversation on visions and understandings of interculturality in Canadian Church […]

Racial Justice and the Canadian Churches

Sharing, Solidarity and Action An online Canada-wide gathering hosted byThe Canadian Ecumenical Anti-Racism Network Supporting a Network for Racial JusticeIn and through Canadian Churches WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 2 AND THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 34pm PDT / 5pm MDT & CST / 6pm CDT / 7pm EDT / 8 pm ADT / 8:30 pm NDT 2-hour online gatherings The Canadian Ecumenical Anti-Racism Network (CEARN) of the Canadian Council of Churches invites you to two days of ecumenical support and engagement in […]

Resources for March 21 UN International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination

The Forum for Intercultural Leadership and Learning and The Canadian Ecumenical Anti-Racism Network suggest a number of resources for faith communities to mark the International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination and work toward eliminating racism in the church and beyond. Created as a response to the killing of 69 protesters at a peaceful […]

Engage Difference! Deepening Understanding for Intercultural Ministry – Online – Program

12 weeks focused on faith, heart, mind, and skills for the art of intercultural ministryWinter 2022 virtual programJanuary 10 – April 4, 2022 Ecumenical + interactive program Practical ideas to use in your own context Nurture cultural understanding + awareness in your community Participate on-line from anywhere in Canada Optional Academic Credit through Wycliffe College

Emancipation Day / Le jour de l’émancipation

August 1st is Emancipation Day in Canada. People of all faith backgrounds are encouraged to join in a virtual ecumenical celebration of Emancipation Day. Le 1er août est le jour de l’émancipation au Canada. Les personnes de toutes confessions sont encouragées à se joindre à une célébration œcuménique virtuelle de la Journée de l’émancipation. Emancipation Day […]

Doctoral Thesis on FILL

Rev. Jonathan Schmidt, staff to the Forum on Intercultural Leadership and Learning has successfully defended his doctoral thesis. This project documents the development of The Forum for Intercultural Leadership and Learning and the five-day Engage Difference! program as responses to the need to resource Canadian Christian communities to understand their cultures and contexts, and to […]

Four Webinars on Interculturality in Canada

This spring we are offering a series of 4 conversational webinars on Interculturality in Canada: A Seat at the Table – Journeying towards Beloved Community (April 14) / Deeper understanding of interculturality: Living, learning, and relating interculturally in Canadian context (May 5) / The Case Study: The Canadian Churches, Poverty, and Intercultural Analysis (May 26) […]